Organization

My Story: September 11, 2001
      This site was developed by an international consumer internet service provider, which claims that it will not take the site out of commission. It is a collection of over 300...[more]


The September 11th Source Books: National Security Archive Online
      The National Security Archive collected at George Washington University includes documents that provide background on terrorism and the United States. The documents are divided...[more]


New York State Historical Records Advisory Board: Documenting the Tragedy
      This site is set up to provide links to entities that are preserving records of the tragedy that occurred in New York at the World Trade Center. The site is divided into three...[more]


The Stinky Artists' Collective
      This is not a very stylish website, but it follows the fascinating web postings from a group of friends, who are artists in NYC. They provide stories of their experiences...[more]


Slashdot: First-Person Account Of Today's Attacks
      The Slashdot site is a snapshot in time of what a very close-knit community of computer-oriented people were doing on September 11th in order to keep up with the flow of news. ...[more]


Day of Remembrance, American Association of Museums
      In response to September 11th, the American Association of Museums and the Institute of Museums and Library Services have developed “Celebrate America’s Freedom: A Day of...[more]


Columbia University -- September 11 Status Page
      This is a message board set up for Columbia students to list information on their saftety following the 9/11 attacks. The message board contains over three thousand contributions...[more]


WorldTradeAftermath.com
      This extremely navigable site has a large amount of information helpful to survivors and victims' friends and families. It is frequently updated and lists important reminders such...[more]


September 11 Web Archive
      This internet library has preserved approximately 4,000 websites related to the September 11 attacks. The collection was commissioned by the Library of Congress and has been put...[more]


The Avalon Project : September 11, 2001 : Attack on America
      The Avalon project is run by Yale Law School and includes digital documents concerned with law, history, economics, and diplomacy, in this case, related to September 11th. ...[more]


After September 11: Perspectives from the Social Sciences
      This site offers perspectives on September 11 from the Social Science Research Council. The essays are written as teaching tools primarily for college and university instructors....[more]


Here is New York
      “Here is New York is a non-profit foundation formed to conduct activities that promote the arts and provide assistance, relief, and support to world events.” This photographic...[more]


September 11 Resources
      This page offers links to sites related to 9/11. The site has the links seperated into different categories: anti-war, memorial and tributes, conspiracy theories etc. There are...[more]


Wikipedia: September 11, 2001
      Wikipedia is a project to produce a complete online encyclopedia. There are articles about everything including current events. There are personal stories from people around the...[more]


The 11 September War on Terror Portal
      This site was created to remind people why the war on terrorism is being waged. It includes an essay by one of its creators, Ken Anderson, on the importance of remembering the...[more]


Twin Towers Crash.Net
      This is an attractive site dedicated to making peace in the aftermath of the WTC attacks. It is some what light on content but does offer a few stories, articles, photos, and...[more]


Alliance for Life-Long Learning - Educational Resources
      This website provides educational guides and resources for teaching September 11th. It is divided into general categories, professor’s picks, and special selections. The site is...[more]


Disaster Message Service: Attack on America
      The Disaster Message Service is a free service that has heartbreaking messages posted by people around the world looking for family members, friends, and colleagues who may have...[more]


Attack on America: The Victims' Voice
      This group is offering free websites to 9/11 survivors as platforms to tell their stories. This page details how to obtain a free site and the basics of developing and publicizing...[more]


Poynter.org: Covering the Attack
      A new consultant at the Wall Street Journal, the author was spending the week in New York City with his wife. He arrived at the World Trade Center just as the first plane hit...[more]


WTC Survival Stories
      These nine survival stories are part of a website run by Douglas Kelley, which dispenses information on art and art receptions in New York City. It is unclear who the writers of...[more]


A Fireman's Story
      Ronald T. Coyne, a New York firefighter, added his story to this website from the Queens Regular Baptist Church. He came on the scene of the World Trade Center as the first...[more]


Remembering Setpember 11, 2001
      This site organizes victims of 9/11 by location of their death and then allows browsers to search through the names and read short biographies of the victims. The site also allows...[more]


The World Trade Center Memorial
      Designed by Prete Design and Domain Atlantic as a memorial to all of the victims of September 11. There is a card of hope that has been signed by almost 23,000 people worldwide. ...[more]


La Vulnerabilidad del Poder
      Una selección de la cobertura informativa del ataque terrorista del 11 de septiembre en los medios masivos de gran parte del Uruguay. Este sitio también incluye opiniones, arte...[more]


The Fine Line
      The author of this blog witnessed the aftermath of the attacks only a few blocks from the WTC. He took many amazing photos which can be linked to from his blog....[more]


Manhattan Disaster Stories
      The first story on this site is an eerie, disturbing, powerful account of a man who volunteered to help find survivor's and then dig for bodies in the wreckage of the WTC. The...[more]


Beliefnet
      This website is different from most of the other archived sites. It exists as a place where people can submit prayers specifically dealing with September 11th. There are over...[more]


Television Archive: A Library of World Perspectives
      This archive is a public non-profit library that offers permanent access for researchers, historians, and scholars to collections that exist in a digital format, particularly news...[more]


September 11 News
      A.D. Williams, a Canadian web designer put this site together. It is a comprehensive website. It includes links to timelines and images from September 2001 through September...[more]


National Air Traffic Controllers Association
      The National Air Traffic Controllers Association created this website as a memorial to September 11th. It has many of the same features as other sites including memorials to...[more]


Diary of a New Yorker
      This journal of Kim Abramson starts on September 11 and goes through October 28, 2001. The journal is part of a site run by the National Air Traffic Controllers Association. ...[more]


The Terrorism Research Center - U.S. Homeland Attack
      The Terrorism Research Center is an independant institute dedicated to the research of terrorism, information warfare, security, critical infrastructure protection and homeland...[more]


Never Will We Forget....
      This tribute site features dubious poetry, a list of the victims, and a guestbook where visitors can write their thoughts, condolences, poems. ...[more]


September 11, 2001 Research Guide
      This is a large, well organized, extremely useful research center for 9/11 related topics run by the Univeristy of Massachusetts. The site is organized into the categories...[more]


Document New York 9-11-01
      This project is sponsored by the Flux Factory, which is a not for profit arts organization in Brooklyn. The site includes links to two stories explaining the project. One is a...[more]


Network of Educators on the Americas/Teaching for Change Multicultural Resources
      Even though this site was created as a teaching resource for grades K-12, the articles are informative for everyone. The site is divided into seven different areas. The teaching...[more]


WTC and Lower Manhattan--past and future
      This site is part of the Lewis Mumford Center for Comparative Urban and Regional Research at SUNY-Albany. It is a scholarly website divided into six areas of interest plus an...[more]


Art Now
      The National Coalition Against Censorship has set up this site so that artists nationwide can publicize their responses to the terror attacks and the aftermath. The page consists...[more]


Responses to Terrorism
      The Human Rights Project of Bard College established this archive of newspaper articles, essays, commentaries, and photographs. The first category shown on the site is Responses...[more]


9/11: Dreams, Lies and Videotape
      The Information Technology War and Peace Project at the Watson Institute for International Studies at Brown University runs this site. This website is an internet driven archive...[more]


International Justice Watch Discussion List Archives
      A thread of discussion on the Univeristy of Buffalo Listserv from September 2001 is captured here. There are over 794 postings from the month....[more]


Dealing with 9/11: A Teacher's College Record Online Call for Student Work
      The Teacher’s College Record is an online journal from the Teacher’s College at Columbia University. This particular site is a call for papers from students in grades k-12 for a...[more]


Mundo del Nuevo Humanismo - Sobre los Atentados en EE.UU.
      Sitio del Mundo del Nuevo Humanismo, con base en Madrid, España y enlaces con la Red Mundial para el Desarrollo Humano. Comentarios, informes, reportajes y colecciones de fotos...[more]


ART NOW: Nationwide Artistic Responses to the September 11 Tragedy and its Aftermath
      The National Coalition Against Censorship (NCAC), founded in 1974, is an alliance of 50 non-profit organizations. They produce a quarterly publication and this link takes you to...[more]


human rights project: responses to terrorism
      This well designed site organizes its archives into five categories: responses to Sept. 11 events, responses by human rights organizations, national security and civil liberties,...[more]


The Information Techonology, War and Peace Project
      Part of the larger Watson Institute at Brown Univeristy site, this subsection entitled INFOTECHWARPEACE has plenty of useful 911 information. After following a link to "911...[more]


Salisbury Fire Dept
      This is a page of photographs showing the patriotic reactions to 9/11 by residents of Sallisbury, North Carolina....[more]


Why Project?
      The site is coordinated by Bill Bartee, a visual artist, Mikon Haaksman, a film artist, and Bill Berry, webmaster and media artist. Individual artists and writers submit their...[more]


9/11 and Beyond: Independent Voices Speak
      This site features independent films submitted from around the world in response to the terror attacks. The films are short with the longest being 28 minutes and the shortest 2...[more]


Rhizome.org: 911 Resource Page
      This website is dedicated to the arts and cultural experience. It has links to other sites offering emergency housing and studio space to artists displaced by the terrorist...[more]


Point of View: Youth Media and Communications
      Youth Initiatives Program of the Open Society Institute runs this site to encourage youth to engage in media activities. The site has no narratives or reactions of its own, but...[more]


9/11/2001
      Run by volunteers from across the country, this website is a memorial to the victims of the terror attacks. The site includes links to lists of the victims, and an area where the...[more]


September 11, 2001: Gay Victims Gay Heroes
      This website lists over 20 gay men and women who died as a result of the terrorist attacks on September 11, 2001. Each person is identified by a photograph, when available, and...[more]


History Responds
      This New York Historical Society website includes seven photoessays from Magnum photographers: Paul Fusco, Thomas Hoepker, Larry Towell, Steve McCurry, Susan Meiselas, Gilles...[more]


September 11, 2001
      The website begins with patriotic graphics and quotes from President Bush. There are audio links, as well as links to information sites, eleven links to people updates, and...[more]


The Hope Project
      This site explains the HOPE Project, which took place in Boston on October 11, 2001. A skywriter wrote the word HOPE over the city and 5,000 postcards with the word hope printed...[more]


Everything After: A 9/11 Youth Circle
      This site is run by Global Kids, an organization dedicated to helping urban youth become community and global leaders. Everything After 911 (ea911) was a month long online...[more]


WNYC
      This website features commentaries about the terror attacks on the World Trade Center written by eight "Radio Rookies" and aired on WNYC radio. The station trains teenagers to...[more]


America Survives
      This site begins with a homepage that offers internal links to the different areas of the site including a section for publishing “thoughts, articles, stories, and personal...[more]


The Fray
      The fray is a website dedicated to personal expression. The site begins with fourteen personal stories and reflections about their lives on September 11. Beyond these...[more]


Wall of Americans: Remember, Respond, Recover
      Created by four volunteers from Corporate Web Services, Incorporated, it includes a memorial wall of victims of all of the attacks on September 11. Each memorial has been...[more]


Attacks on USA
      This website is a database of links to other websites. Currently, there are over 150 sites listed. Twelve are breaking news links, five are discussion forums, twenty are general...[more]


World Trade Aftermath
      John Haller created this website, which is made up mostly of links to other sites. The homepage includes updates on the memorial Tribute in Light, as well as information on the...[more]


The Survivor List
      This website is a list of names in alphabetical order and includes the status of each person. There are over 1,700 people listed: alive, missing and deceased. Each entry leads...[more]


Victim's Memorial Online
      This memorial website was created to allow the families of the victims of September 11 to submit tributes to their loved ones. The site lists each name in alphabetical order and...[more]


Commemorate WTC
      A team of international web developers from a dozen companies developed this comprehensive website. The site has some unique features such as a flower wall where guests place...[more]


The New York City Fire Fighter, Police & EMS Memorial
      Mitch Mendler, a paramedic and fire fighter from San Diego created this site as a memorial to the fire fighters, EMS, and police officers who lost their lives on September 11. ...[more]


World Trade Center Emergency Locator
      This website was created by volunteers from Webcentric in order to try to help families locate loved ones from the World Trade Center. Victims and survivors are listed in...[more]


National Obituary Archive (NOA)
      The National Obituary Archive has put together a special section of their main site dedicated to those who perished on September 11. The site lists the fifty most recent...[more]


Unity after World Trade Center Attacks: Survivors, Victims, Memorials
      This website is divided into seven sections with the titles: "Know", "Inspire", "Learn", "Remember", "Help", "Speak", and "Links. Each section serves a different purpose. ...[more]


Families of September 11
      Families of September 11, Inc. is a nonprofit organization founded by families of those who died in the September 11 terrorist attacks. Their website includes services for...[more]


WTC Memorial Quilt Project Diary
      This site describes the memorial quilting project created by Amy Leasure and Chris Davis of Prescott, Arizona. The project received 18,988 panels, which are being sewn into large...[more]


World Trade Center Miracles
      This website offers a little of everything, although it is nevertheless well organized. It serves two purposes. One is to offer resources to people wanting to research the World...[more]


World Trade Center & Pentagon Memorial
      This website is supposed to be a memorial to the World Trade Center and the Pentagon, but it includes few tribute materials. It is much more useful in terms of its links and...[more]


H-Net and September 11
      H-net is an international group of scholars who exchange ideas, resources, and information. This is done primarily through the more than 100 electronic newsletters or lists on a...[more]


Port Authority Police Memorial
      This site pays tribute to the thirty-seven Port Authority Police officers who lost their lives in the World Trade Center disaster. Each officer’s photograph is posted on the...[more]


America United We Stand Photos Slideshow
      The Connecticut Legal Guide has put together two slide shows, which can be ordered on this site. One is a tribute to the patriotic spirit at Ground Zero and beyond. It includes...[more]


9/11 Memorial Wall
      This site is run by Cafe America. The memorial has a musical background where viewers can submit tributes and poetry. There are memorial walls, which include the name and age of...[more]


Irish Tribute: A Memorial to the Irish Victims
      Irish Abroad created this website as a tribute to people of Irish decent who lost their lives on September 11th. The site includes reflections, poetry, and Irish blessings, as...[more]


In Memoriam
      This memorial site was created by the Association of Flight Attendants for their members who lost their lives on September 11th. The site is organized by the four flights that...[more]


September 11: No More Innocent Victims
      The Global Exchange is an international human rights organization dedicated to promoting political, social and environmental justice globally. The Global Exchange web site...[more]


Terror Attacks of September 11
      Z-Net offers a massive collection of anti-war essays, links, and leftist political analysis of U.S-Arab foreign policy. Featured at the Z-Net site are 43 questions about Arab...[more]


September 11
      This website is part of the larger site for the Global Ecovillage Network. The editors have compiled a list of over a dozen articles in response to the terrorist attack on the...[more]


Amnesty International - working to protect human rights worldwide - sep11crisis
      This site provides information from Amnesty International on their response to the war on terrorism. Their call is for justice not revenge. The website offers position papers on...[more]


911 JUSTICE
      This is an open letter to the U.S government by The People-Centered Development Forum, a non-profit organization founded on the pillars of social justice and a sustainable future....[more]


History Responds: September 11 by Magnum Photographers
      This website includes seven photo essays from Magnum photographers: Paul Fusco, Thomas Hoepker, Larry Towell, Steve McCurry, Susan Meiselas, Gilles Peress, and Alex Webb. The...[more]


Muslims and the West after Sept. 11
      This article written by Professor Pervez Hoodbhoy asks the question why do so many Arabic people hate the United States and how can there possibly be a reconciliation? To find his...[more]


NEWSEUM
      This website is part of the Newseum's larger site. It includes images of the frontpages of more than 100 newspapers from across the country and around the world on September 12,...[more]


About 9-11memorial.org
      This site is a tribute to the rescue workers who died at the World Trade Center on September 11th. It includes a list of EMS and firefighters who lost their lives. Each victim...[more]


The Peacemakers Speak
      This website contains statements from seventeen Nobel Peace Prize recipients. Each statement reflects the opinion of the Laureate and addresses questions of war. A photograph...[more]


beyond 9-11: the art of renewal in iowa
      This website contains the work of twenty-one artists from Iowa, each expressing his or her reaction to September 11th through their medium. Every entry includes a photograph of...[more]


World Trade Center Volunteer Program
      Cross Cultural Solutions is an orginization that sends volunteers all over the world to help in cris situations. CCS played a leading role in providing volunteers and helping...[more]


Welcome to Radical Hospitality - radicalhospitality.org
      Radicalhospitality.org is an online community created to serve as a new home and to meet the needs of the relief volunteers and recovery workers that arrived at St. Paul’s Chapel...[more]


Political Science Web Sites
      This is a clearinghouse for political science sites. Hundreds of links are offered here covering a broad sphere of topics....[more]


September 11, 2001
      The New York Statewide Incident Notification Group is made up of members who listen to their scanners and send alerts to other members of the group whenever an event occurs. ...[more]


US 911 Network - Attack On America Hub
      This website was created by Charles Caro, an internet businessman, to provide easy access to information on September 11th. The site is divided into fourteen sections, each of...[more]


PaPa iNk - PapaInk Curation Team Curated Gallery
      This gallery includes artworks form children who competed in the Sakura Cray-pas art contest. Each picture entry includes information about the young artist including the child’s...[more]


Thank You Rescuers - dedicated to the heroes who respond to the September 11 Attack on America tragedy.
      This website refers to itself as “the big thank you card,” and it honors heroes who worked as rescuers on and after September 11th. The site includes over 400 thank you messages...[more]


Internet9.11
      This website provides examples and information on how the internet allowed people to come together online in response to the events of September 11th. The site is divided into...[more]


New Yorkers- Please Reassure Us - Comics Journal Message Board
      This page is a reproduced thread from The Comics Journal message board, in which cartoonists and comics fans reacted to the events of September 11, 2001. It is only a partial...[more]


Cantor Fitzgerald Relief Fund
      The Cantor Fitzgerald Relief Fund is one of the major charitable groups providing direct assistance to those who lost family members on 9/11. The CFRF web site provides more...[more]


Jedi Council Forums - OFFICIAL THREAD: Plane Crashes into World Trade Center
      The Jedi Community Council is a web community of truly devoted Star Wars fans. This link leads to a captured thread of postings between members on September Eleventh. ...[more]


Click2Disasters - September 11: America Attacked - Chapter 1 - Preface
      A subsection in a larger site devoted to disasters, click2disasters.com, this part details the 9/11 attacks. The site allowes browsers to navigate by topic (i.e Flight 93) and...[more]


NYCOSH: WTC Catastrophe links
      Extensive website developed by the New York Committee for Occupational Safety and Health (NYCOSH), with summaries of reports and links to full documents on a wide range of...[more]


11 de septiembre: Reflexión y debate
      Un sitio web peruano en el que se reproducen articulos y comentarios de fuentes academicas, como el Social Science Research Council, y de otros medios latinoamericanos....[more]


flt93memorial.org
      This website has news and scheduled events related to the Flight 93 crash on September 11, as well as directions to the memorial in Shanksville,...[more]


September 11: resources to help your congregation in this time of crisis
      A wide range of resources for worship, caregiving, and peacemaking, responding to the attacks of September 11th from the United Church of Christ. Contributors come from the...[more]


World Trade Center wtc 911 memorial
      This site offers a conglomeration of photos and flash files pertaining to the 9/11 attacks. There are interactive features such as a map of downtown New York which higlights...[more]


9/11 Environmental Action Entry Page
      Health and environmental issues stemming from the destruction of the WTC are advocated here. The 9/11 Environmental Action group is an environmental and health advocacy group...[more]


Welcome to the WORLD MEMORIAL
      World Memorial promotes the building of a memorial and museum at Ground Zero and welcomes visitors to contribute their ideas. The site has an online survey and petition form,...[more]


re:constructions
      The MIT Comparative Media community created "re:constructions - reflections on humanity and media after tragedy" in order to analyze, explore, challenge, examine, analyze, debate,...[more]